Villeray Electoral Geography

The Villeray electoral geography is about the Villeray-Saint-Michel-Parc-Extension borough and its four electoral profiles and districts.

A division based on the socio-economic maps and profiles of the population of Villeray-Saint-Michel-Parc-Extension provided by the latest Statistics Canada five-year census.

In 2016, the population of the borough was 143,853 with a variation of only 1% between 2011-2016. The population density was 8,682 residents by square kilometres and the unemployed rate was 11%.

Electoral Map

The borough of Villeray-Saint-Michel-Parc-Extension ranks 11 out of 19 boroughs in terms of area, second in terms of population and second in terms of density.

The borough is surrounded by the Ahuntsic-Cartierville, Saint-Léonard and Rosemont-La Petite-Patrie boroughs and by the Town of Mount-Royal.


Electoral Votes

According to the Elector's Manual provided by Élections Montréal, when the next mayor and councillors election will take place in November 2021, the residents of the Villeray-Saint-Michel-Parc-Extension borough, will vote for the following electoral offices.

  • The mayor of the City of Montreal
  • The mayor of Villeray-Saint-Michel-Parc-Extension borough
  • Four City Councillors, one for each of the four electoral districts

A Borough Council composed of the Borough Mayor who is also a City Councillor and four City Councillors, one for each of the electoral districts of the borough.

The decisions made by the City Councillors affect all Montrealers, while the decisions made by the Borough Councillors affect the residents of the borough only. 


According to the website of the borough, the borough council is responsible for providing local services including those related to the following areas:

  • Culture, recreation and borough parks
  • Fire safety prevention
  • Local economic, communal and social development
  • Local roads
  • Removal of residual materials
  • Town planning

Villeray Electoral Mandate

structure and various administrative choices that vary from one borough to another.

In this case, the administrative structure is divided into four departments managed by one Borough Administrator and four Department Managers.



  • Culture, Sports, Recreation and Social Development
  • Citizens Relations, Registry and Administrative Services
  • Public Works
  • Territorial Development

The Villeray-Saint-Michel-Parc-Extension borough was, in the past, mainly composed of labourers, but now it is mainly composed of tenants.

The territory is notable for its ethnocultural population and, despite the gentrification of certain areas, many residents still live on low income.

Electoral Maps


Four polling subdivisions maps are made available by Élections Montréal to all residents, one for each of the four electoral districts of the Villeray-Saint-Michel-Parc-Extenson borough.